View Issue Details

IDProjectCategoryView StatusLast Update
0015973Open Gaming Network[All Projects] Page Contentpublic2020-08-08 13:43
ReporterwebformAssigned To 
PrioritynormalSeverityminorReproducibilityhave not tried
Status newResolutionopen 
Product Version 
Target VersionFixed in Version 
Summary0015973: Natural attack strenght bonus / modifier error
DescriptionIssue type: Page Content
Reported from:
by Miguel Castillo
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/84.0.4147.105 Safari/537.36
Hello, I think that there is an error in the page Universal Monster Rules, in the section Natural Attacks. In that section says that all types of natural attacks have +X strenght bonus in damage (bonus means positive modifier). The Core Rule Book, in the page 182, states this:

"Attacks made with natural weapons, such as claws and bites, are melee attacks that can be made against any creature within your reach (usually 5 feet). These attacks are made using your full attack bonus and deal an amount of damage that depends on their type (plus your Strength modifier, as normal). You do not receive additional natural attacks for a high base attack bonus. Instead, you receive additional attack rolls for multiple limb and body parts capable of making the attack (as noted by the race or ability that grants the attacks). If you possess only one natural attack (such as a bite—two claw attacks do not qualify), you add 1–1/2 times your Strength bonus on damage rolls made with that attack.
Some natural attacks are denoted as secondary natural attacks, such as tails and wings. Attacks with secondary natural attacks are made using your base attack bonus minus 5. These attacks deal an amount of damage depending on their type, but you only add half your
Strength modifier on damage rolls. You can make attacks with natural weapons in combination with attacks made with a melee weapon
and unarmed strikes, so long as a different limb is used for each attack. For example, you cannot make a claw attack and also use that hand to make attacks with a longsword. When you make additional attacks in this way, all of your natural attacks are treated as secondary
natural attacks, using your base attack bonus minus 5 and adding only 1/2 of your Strength modifier on damage rolls."

So the correct damages are:
-Only one attack: +1-1/2 Str BONUS (positive only)
-Primary: + Str MODIFIER (positive or negative)
-Secondary: +1/2 Str MODIFIER (positive or negative)

It's a small error, but it has given me an hour of craziness trying to understand it :).
Thanks for your awesome website!


There are no notes attached to this issue.

Issue History

Date Modified Username Field Change
2020-08-08 13:43 webform New Issue
2020-08-08 13:43 webform Tag Attached: d20pfsrd